It's time to say goodbye

1. DukeofRealms

DukeofRealms The One

Hi guys,

TL; DR: DFR Minecraft server is closing today.

I started playing Minecraft in Beta version 1.4 (released on March 31, 2011) and my first server, MineLife (later known as DawnFire Realms) started not too long afterwards.

MineLife/DFR first began on one these:

[​IMG]

An HP Pavilion DV2 Notebook, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon Neo MV-40 processor, 4GB RAM, running on... Windows Vista (shudder).

At the time I had something like a 30GB data cap (maybe lower) on my broadband plan, on an ADSL connection (24 Mbps down / 1 Mbps up). That's megabits not megabytes, and that was theoretical maximum speeds, I never even got close to that. We would frequently max our data cap a week or so before it rolled over for the next month and so, unfortunately, would have no access to the internet and therefore no server. Not to mention I was only ever home on the weekends, so in the early days, you couldn't just hop on the server whenever you wanted.

Apart from the connection and availability times, the good old HP laptop was a severely abused and neglected machine. If it were a child, CPS would've been called a long time ago, and I'd be locked up. Dust, dirt and general filth caked the vents. Bits of spilt food and drink clogged the keyboard and joints. Who knows how much malware was on that thing. And this was accumulated from the 2 years of general wear and tear before running a server, the real abuse was only just starting to begin.